Andy Allo - Superconductor

NPG Records, 2012

Andy Allo joined Prince's New Power Generation band as a guitarist in 2011, and while on tour she and Prince began writing songs together — including the track that would become the title of her Prince-produced album Superconductor. Recorded at Paisley Park for NPG Records, Superconductor features several members of the NPG in addition to special guests Maceo Parker and Trombone Shorty.

Prince and Andy would continue collaborating in the studio. Andy contributed vocals to Prince's 2014 album, ART OFFICIAL AGE, and in 2015 they released the covers album Oui Can Luv as a very limited online-only release; it was only available on Tidal for a total of 12 hours before disappearing.

That experience was incredible. It's very educational. I would just watch him. You're in presence of someone who has so much experience and so much knowledge. At the same time he gave me that space to blossom and grow.”

Andy Allo, Billboard, 2013

Superconductor Album Credits

Andy Allo vocals, guitar Michael B. drums John Blackwell drums Prince various instruments Ida Nielsen bass guitar Morris Hayes keyboards Shelby J. vocals Elisa Dease vocals Liv Warfield vocals Maceo Parker saxophone Trombone Shorty trombone The Hornheadz (Michael B. Nelson, Kathy Jensen, Dave Jensen, Brian Gallagher, Steve Strand) horns

Join community to get news and updates

Something went wrong

By providing us with your email address and clicking “Submit” you are agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Unfortunately, your internet browser is incompatible with this experience. Kindly install either Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari to participate.

Google Chrome Firefox Safari