The New Power Generation - Goldnigga

NPG Records, 1993

Goldnigga is the first album to be credited solely to the New Power Generation and the first to be released on Prince's NPG Records, established in 1993 after the closing of his Warner Bros. imprint Paisley Park Records.

Although future NPG Records releases would be distributed to stores, Goldnigga was offered in an extremely limited capacity, and was only sold at live concerts, through Prince's mail-order phone line 1-800-NEW-FUNK, and at Paisley Park during Celebration events in 2001.

Songwriting on Goldnigga was credited to the New Power Generation, and was done collaboratively between Prince and his touring band: Michael Bland, Sonny Thompson, Levi Seacer, Jr., Tommy Barbarella, Morris Hayes, Tony Mosley, Damon Dickson, and Kirk Johnson. During the recording of the album, which began when Prince and the NPG were on the Diamonds and Pearls Tour, Prince took on the role of a sideman and gave the lead vocals to the rapper and dancer Tony Mosley.

Goldnigga Album Credits

Prince vocals, various instruments Tony M. lead vocals, rap Damon Dickson vocals Kirk Johnson background vocals, percussion Michael B. drums Sonny T. bass guitar and background vocals Levi Seacer, Jr. guitar Tommy Barbarella piano and vocals Mr. Hayes organ, synths and vocals The NPG Hornz (Michael B. Nelson, Kathy Jensen, Dave Jensen, Brian Gallagher, Steve Strand) horns Willow spoken vocals Rosie Gaines vocals

Join community to get news and updates

Something went wrong

By providing us with your email address and clicking “Submit” you are agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Unfortunately, your internet browser is incompatible with this experience. Kindly install either Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari to participate.

Google Chrome Firefox Safari