Mavis Staples - Time Waits for No One

Paisley Park Records, 1989

Prince and the gospel artist Mavis Staples began their musical relationship in 1988 with the recording of Time Waits for No One, her debut on the Paisley Park Records label. Although Prince and Mavis would have the opportunity to work in the studio together later, their first collaboration was mostly completed long-distance, with Prince recording the songs in his studio at Paisley Park and sending them to Mavis to add her vocals separately.

Six of the songs on Time Waits for No One were written by Prince, and the title track was a collaboration between the two artists. They would soon unite in the studio on several projects, including the song "Melody Cool" for Prince's soundtrack Graffiti Bridge and Mavis's 1993 album, The Voice, which was also released on Paisley Park Records.

Time Waits for No One Album Credits

Mavis Staples vocals Prince vocals Sheila E. drums, percussion, vocals Lester Snell keyboards Eric Leeds saxophone Atlanta Bliss trumpet Miko Weaver guitar Boni Boyer keyboards Dr. Fink keyboards Levi Seacer, Jr. bass Ray Griffin bass Michael Toles guitar Lawrence Harper drums

Join community to get news and updates

Something went wrong

By providing us with your email address and clicking “Submit” you are agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Unfortunately, your internet browser is incompatible with this experience. Kindly install either Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari to participate.

Google Chrome Firefox Safari